“Google Is a Vampire”- Mark Cuban

This could get nasty. The battle between device makers (iPhone, Sony, Samsung, Google) and piplelines (Comcast, AT&T, Verizon) and navigation/search and ad services (Google, Yahoo!, etc.),  content producers (Comcast-NBC-Universal, Fox, etc.) will get heated in the very near future. And note how some of the players are positioning themselves in multiple piece of the ecosystem?

And, I have to admit, being a screenplay writer and a music writer (all unpublished, as yet) and being in a position in my career where I get paid for my ideas, I have to say I side with the content guys. I’d want to get paid for the intellectual property I create and I do.

Now, I think it’s a bit of hyperbole to call search engines vampires because in order to monetize your content, people need help finding it. I mean, there’s only 243 million web sites in the world. So, someone that helps you find your content should be able to have some benefit from that service. But, they shouldn’t get all the benefit.

Google Is a Vampire”- Mark Cuban.

About Scott Cone
A husband to a loving, lovely wife. Father to six great kids and two grand kids. I'm a marketing, advertising and promotion professional with a keen interest in big ideas, all things digital and especially how mobile is changing all aspects of communication and marketing. I play guitar and sing, write music, write screenplays, act, scuba dive, weight lift, ski and enjoy Christian apologetics, logic, evolution versus intelligent design and the basis for morals, values and ethics.

Leave a Reply

